Due to the number of positive COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations across the country and locally, Linn County has closed most buildings to the public to help reduce community spread of the virus and to help ensure continuity of County services.
At your correct polling place, you will need to prove who you are (ID) and where you live (residence). The best document to bring is your valid Iowa driver's license with your current address.
Acceptable forms of ID
If you do not have an Iowa driver's license, then you may use a photo ID this is current, valid and contain an expiration date. Below is a list of acceptable forms of ID:
Iowa non-driver ID card
Out-of-state driver's license or non-driver ID card
U.S. Military ID/Veteran ID Card
Tribal ID Card/Document
ID card issued by employer (with an expiration date)
Student ID issued by an Iowa high school or college (with an expiration date)
At this time, digital forms of identification are not accepted.
Acceptable forms of Residence
If your photo ID does not contain your current address, you may use another document to prove where you live if it contains your name and current address. Below is a list of acceptable proofs of residence:
Residential Lease/College Residency Letter
Property Tax Statement
Utility Bill, including cell phone bill
Government Check or Other Government Document
Digital forms of residence are accepted.
If you cannot provide ID and/or where you reside, then a registered voter from the precinct you currently reside in may attest for you. You and the attester will be required to sign an oath swearing the statements are true.
The attester must present an ID to attest for you.
Falsely attesting or being attested for is registration fraud. It is a class "D" felony and is punishable by a fine of up to $7,500 and up to 5 years in prison.